Inner Ocean Records is pleased to present the latest release by Carsten Rubeling, one of
Canada’s premier jazz composers and trombonists. “Headwaters” was recorded with a seven-piece ensemble intended to transport the listener to an environment where rivers begin and true wilderness fills us with a sense of natural beauty and magic. A cinematic and mesmerizing experience, as the songs unfold they evoke a message of reverence for this remaining piece of pristine wilderness and a call for protection of these areas.

The Bighorn region is tucked along the eastern slopes of Alberta’s Rocky Mountains between Banff and Jasper. The expansive scenery of this wilderness includes lush forested valleys, snow covered mountain ranges, jewel-like lakes and wildflower meadows. The Bighorn area forms the headwaters of the North Saskatchewan River basin which flows across Canada to the Hudson’s Bay. The area contains critical wildlife habitat for many animal populations including grizzly bear, caribou, bighorn sheep, and bull trout.

This album was created in conjunction with the Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society
(CPAWS), and the Yellowstone to Yukon Conservation Initiative (Y2Y) and with support from the Alberta Foundation for the Arts (AFA).

All compositions by Carsten Rubeling except Old World by Aaron Young
Produced by Carsten Rubeling
Co-Produced by Steve Jackson
Mixed by Steve Jackson
Mastered by Aaron Young
Recorded at OCL Studios by Brennan Kennedy
Artwork by Sharon Rubeling
Carsten Rubeling: trombone (tracks 1-7)
Andre Wickenheiser: trumpet/flugelhorn (tracks 1-7)
Mark DeJong: Alto saxophone (tracks 1,3,4,6,7)/Tenor saxophone (tracks 2,5)
Fraser Calhoun: Tenor saxophone (tracks 1,3,6)
Aaron Young: quitar (1-7)
Steve Shepard: bass (1-7)
Trevor Falls: drums (1-7)